Home > gadgets, HTC, Phones, Safaricom > Samsung Galaxy Note; why I decided to get one

Samsung Galaxy Note; why I decided to get one

After a long and patient wait, I decided to get myself the Galaxy Note, for use as a secondary phone/device. I must admit that this decision was purely personal, as I already have two functioning phones and a tab, a Galaxy tab.

I must admit that I am both excited and worried about the Note. Excited because I can’t wait to use the 8.0 Megapixel camera as I love photography, and worried since I am not quite sure how I will carry around this huge gadget.

So I had a tough time deciding on what phone to go for, specifically between the Galaxy SII, the Bold 9900 and the Note. I already have a Blackberry device, the Bold 9700, so that helped to rule out acquring another Blackberry device, though I have to admit that I am a #teamcrackberry member *for now*.

The choice between the SII and the Note was difficult, to say the least. Besides the 4G network feature, which again is region specific, the two gadgets have very similar specs. They both come with a 8.0 MP camera, complete with Geo-tagging, touch focus, face and smile detection and image stabilization capabilities. They also both have a secondary camera, seeing as I will need one for video calls.

The Android version pre-loaded on both devices is v2.3 (Gingerbread), with planned upgrades (long overdue) to v4.0, which I hope will be possible over the air (OTA) to make the process smoother. This fact made it even more difficult to decided on which device to pick. The Galaxy Note however boasts of a 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, compared to the 1.2 GHz one loaded in the SII. The Note additionally comes with the S Pen stylus, that will come in handy for use with the phones wide dispaly.

The Galaxy SII:

Look out for first impressions from the Note.

Categories: gadgets, HTC, Phones, Safaricom Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

